Readings by Date

This section organizes all of the readings by date so that there is a straightforward way to look up content chronologically.

Date Day Reading Review or Presentation
Oct 01 Mon Brewer’s Conjecture review
Oct 03 Wed CAP 12 years later presentation
Oct 05 Fri Linearizability review

Oct 8th - Monday

Paper

Causal memory: definitions, implementation, and programming

Response

I used a free pass and didn’t do this reading

Oct 10th - Wednesday

Paper

Time, Clocks, and the Ordering of Events

Response

Reading Response

Oct 12th - Friday

Paper

Session Gurantees for Weakly Consistent Replicated Data

Response

Reading Response

Oct 15th - Monday

Paper

Don’t Settle for Eventual: Scalable Causal Consistency for Wide-Area Storage with COPS

Response

Reading Response

Oct 17th - Wednesday

Paper

Consistency in Non-Transactional Distributed Storage Systems

Response

Reading Response

Oct 19 Friday

Paper

Response

Oct 22 Monday

Paper

Review

Oct 24 Wednesday

Paper

Reading Review

Oct 26 Friday

Paper

Reading Review

Oct 29 Monday

Amazon Aurora: Design Considerations for High Throughput Cloud-Native Relational Databases

Oct 31 Wednesday

Discretized Streams: Fault-Tolerant Streaming Computation at Scale

Nov 2 Friday

The MemSQL Query Optimizer

Nov 5 Monday

Predicting Multiple Metrics for Queries: Better Decisions Enabled by Machine Learning

Nov 7 Wednesday

The Case for Learned Index Structures

Nov 9 Friday

Cicada: Dependably Fast Multi-Core In-Memory Transactions

Nov 14 Wednesday

Eliminating Unscalable Communication in Transaction Processing

Nov 16 Friday

An Evaluation of Distributed Concurrency Control

Nov 19 Monday

Optimizing Space Amplification in RocksDB

Nov 21 Wednesday

GraphX: Graph Processing in a Distributed Dataflow Framework

Nov 26 Monday

Scalable Atomic Visibility with RAMP Transactions

Nov 28 Wednesday

Data Curation at Scale: The Data Tamer System

Nov 30 Friday

Data provenance to audit compliance with privacy policy in the Internet of Things

Dec 3 Monday

NoDB: efficient query execution on raw data files

Dec 5 Wednesday

The Myria Big Data Management and Analytics System and Cloud Service

Dec 7 Friday

The Case For Heterogeneous HTAP

The rest below, to be integrated above in the future

Oct 29 Monday

Paper

Replicated Data Types: Specification, Verification, Optimality

Response

Reading Response

Oct 31 Wednesday

Paper

Disciplined Inconsistency with Consistency Types

Response

Reading Response

Nov 2 Friday

Paper

‘Cause I’m Strong Enough: Reasoning about Consistency Choices in Distributed Systems

Presentation

Nov 5 Monday

Paper

MixT: A Language for Mixing Consistency in Geodistributed Transactions

Response

Reading Response

Nov 7 Wednesday

Quick break

Nov 9 Friday

Paper

Reactive Caching for Composed Services

Response

Nov 14 Wednesday

Paper

Consistency Analysis in Bloom: a CALM and Collected Approach

Response

Nov 16 Friday

Paper

Logic and lattices for distributed programming

Response

Nov 19 Monday

Paper

From Clarity to Efficiency for Distributed Algorithms

Response

Nov 21 Wednesday

Paper

PSYNC: A partially synchronous language for fault-tolerant distributed algorithms

Response

Nov 26 Monday

Paper

P: safe asynchronous event-driven programming

Response

Nov 28 Wednesday

Paper

Orleans: Cloud Computing for Everyone

Response

Nov 30 Friday

Paper

Naiad: A Timely Dataflow System

Response

Dec 3 Monday

Paper

Modular Software Upgrades for Distributed Systems

Response

Dec 5 Wednesday

Paper

Rehearsal: A Configuration Verification Tool for Puppet

Response

Dec 7 Friday

Paper

Abstractions for Network Update

Response